in your browser.
Whenever you summon a minion with 3 or less Attack, give it
The Warsong clan is
. It's really not worth it to become a commander.
This card is used in
36.94% of all Warrior decks
Seemly underrated ability,
, is very powerful ability. Using the Warsong Commander, all other minions you play are granted , and thus able to attack the turn they are played. You will be able to do a lot of damage to your opponent quickly. I recommend if you can, play another card at least the same turn to take full advantage of the charge since more and more players are making this minion a top priority target.
For the Horde!
Edit: See Xinhuan's comment above for all the details of how the card works after its nerf to only work with low attack minions.
This is currently the only card with
The mechanics are wrong: this card has "Grant Charge" but not "Charge".
This card + Core Hound = Over Powered sugar!
Golden version unlocked at Warrior level 36 and 38
EDIT: Nerfed to only grant charge to minions with 3 attack or less. Will test out if this includes a minion that you buff with inner rage...
This card is part of the winning combination when played with 2 x
if your hero has 13 or less life left.
If played on it's on it'll surely get removed ASAP, so save this bad boy until you have enough mana to play an accompanying card along with it.
Hearthstone Update: Upcoming Changes for 1/13
has been reworked and now reads: Whenever you play a minion with 3 or less Attack, give it
(the spell, not the keyword) has been reworked and now costs 3 mana. The card’s new power reads: “Give a friendly minion +2 Attack and
Both of these cards were key components in “One Turn Kill” or “OTK” decks that kill your opponent in one turn without requiring any cards on the board. We want the game to be about playing minions and fighting for board control rather than just waiting until you can play your big combo and win in one turn with no interaction from your opponent.
Expert cards that are being changed can be disenchanted for their full cost for a limited time when the patch goes live. We hope these changes will increase the variety of cards you will see at all levels of play, and make playing Hearthstone a more fun and interactive game for everyone.
Few notes about reworked ability:
from this minion apparently applies before , so it still affects cards such as
with equipped weapon. Buffing minion's damage after summoning it won't remove .
This ability affects minions no matter how where they summoned on battlefield, this means that minions summoned by or still receive charge.
Looking at the wording of the card, it's safe to assume that for to take effect
has to be on the board first. On the other hand, removing this minion from the board shouldn't remove from other minions affected by this card anymore.
So, yeah, nerfhammer hit this card pretty hard, but it still works well with rush decks, just you won't be able to do the same with high power minions anymore.
From some testing, here are some interesting (and annoying) facts about the new Warsong Commander.
Warsong Commander is in play. You then play a
, then trigger the Enrage. It will retain .
Warsong Commander is in play. You have a weapon. You then play a
. As the Bloodsail Raider enters play, it gains Charge, THEN the Battlecry resolves and brings its Attack above 3. By the same reasoning, A
that manages to steal a Divine Shield also gains Charge from the Warsong Commander.
See Bugs section below.
Warsong Commander is in play. You play
on something above 3 Attack. As the Faceless enters play, it gains Charge, THEN the Battlecry resolves and it transforms into the target minion. This means the Faceless will lose his Charge unless the minion being cloned has Charge.
You play a minion with 3 or less Attack first. Then play the Warsong Commander. The former minion does not gain Charge.
You play a minion with 3 or less Attack first, and it subsequently gets buffed above 3 Attack by any means. You then play the Warsong Commander. The former minion does not gain Charge.
Warsong Commander and
are in play. You play a minion with 3 base Attack, for example, a
. The Worgen comes into play with 4 Attack and does
gain Charge. The same applies if the Worgen came into play next to a
Dire Wolf Alpha
Your Warsong Commander just granted Charge to some Minion X you just summoned. If you kill the Warsong Commander, Minion X still retains Charge. If your enemy
s Minion X later, it will be able to Charge you.
If you have 2 Warsong Commanders in play and then summon a minion with 3 or less Attack, it will gain 2 copies of the Charge buff. The second one is redundant.
Minions summoned by Battlecries, Deathrattles or other trigger effects will also gain Charge if they have 3 or less Attack, subject to the same rules above.
The Warsong Commander must be in play first. It will only grant Charge to minions summoned after it.
Granting of Charge to a minion occurs before Battlecries, but after aura effects.
Any such Charge granted is permanent, even if the Warsong Commander dies. The granted Charge can be silenced.
As of the Goblins vs Gnomes patch (5 Dec 2014), Warsong Commander is not correctly granting Charge to minions that are summoned by Battlecries/Deathrattles, nor minions that are self-buffed by Battlecries (eg Bloodsail Raider/Blood Knight).
Blizzard has confirmed this is a bug but it is currently undecided "as to how it should be working when the bug is fixed"
(that is, whether the original behavior was bugged to begin with).
Zeriyah later tweeted
that a buffed Bloodsail Raider not getting Charge is a bug.
If Warsong Commander is
ed, the resulting
is visibly summoned next to the Warsong Commander, gains Charge, then the Warsong Commander dies.
or any other "on-summon" effects will not trigger off this interaction.
The old Warsong Commander previously read "Your other minions have Charge" prior to the
patch on 16 Jan 2014
. The change/nerf was primarily due to the "OTK Warrior" which features killing the enemy player from an empty board by playing a Warsong Commander, a pair of free or almost free
, and bouncing them with
(which also gains Charge).
was often the board clear to remove s.
Will grant Charge to
too. It may only happen if a priest deck steals a
from opponent's hand or deck, but it's worth having it in mind.
Warriors should pair
with this card.
When you have 9+ mana, summon Illidan, THEN the Warsong Commander. When the Commander is played, Illidan will summon the
Flame of Azzinoth
. Because it is a 2/1, it will gain charge.
This can be handy as a last ditch effort to break your opponent's offensive, and if both Illidan and the Commander survive, you can keep the Charging Flame combo going for the rest of the game.
since i discovered this card, i have not removed from my deck ;)
Even post-nerf this card is great. People really underestimate how powerful charge is. Early in the game this will rack up a ton of damage and favorable trades for you, and even later in the game it adds a lot of much-needed value to lower-cost minions. If nothing else, this turns the 1 and 2 drops you topdeck later in the game into direct damage spells that can't bypass taunt.
Just think of the synergy with
So this + any weapon +
means the raider gets charge even though it has more than 3 attack. But this +
when an opponent has 6 or more cards does not give
charge! I'm not sure if that's working as intended, but it's definitely counter-intuitive.
Please keep the following in mind when posting a comment:
Your comment must be in English or it will be removed.
Unsure how to post? Check out our
You might want to proof-read your comments before posting them.
Please post questions on our
for quicker reply.
You are not logged in. Please
register an account
to add your comment.
Simply browse for your screenshot using the form below.
In-game screenshots are preferred over model-viewer-generated ones.
The higher the quality the better!
Be sure to read the
tips & tricks
if you haven't before.
You are not logged in. Please
to submit a screenshot.
Simply type the URL of the video in the form below.
Supported: YouTube only
Optional, up to 200 characters
Note: Your video will need to be approved before appearing on the site.
© 2014 ZAM Network LLC